Shared Access

Shared Access

Shared Access

Shared Access lets you give other people permission to view and/or access to your account. You can control exactly what type of access you share by choosing certain from certain permissions. For example, you can choose to only allow a person to view the account, or you can allow them to make certain transactions. This is a good way to let a joint member, financial advisor, accountant or other designated person view your account using their own unique login credentials.
 

How to Set Up Shared Access

  1. Login to your Online Banking profile, click on “Tools & Settings, and then select “Settings.”
  2. ‚ÄčOn the “SETTINGS” page, click on the “Shared Access” tab at the top, then click “Add a user.”

  1. On the “Add user” page, enter all of the requested information for the person you want to give access to your account. You’ll need to enter the person’s First Name, Last Name and Email Address. You’ll also need to enter the person’s email address a second time in the Confirm Email Address field.
  2. Under “Choose permissions,” select the accounts (shares) and level of access you want the person to have. Options include “View account” (see balances and transactions), “Transfer into” (add money from another account to the selected account), “Transfer from” (move money from the selected account to another account), and “Pay bills.”

    If you want the person to have full access (able to do everything you can do as the primary account holder), click “All permissions.” Once finished, scroll to the bottom of the page and hit “Save.”
  3. Once you click “Save,” a new window will pop up asking you to confirm and invite the added user. Review the permissions to make sure they are correct and then check the box next to the statement “I acknowledge one or more of these settings selected will allow the invitee to transfer money from my account/accounts.” Note that this “acknowledgment” disclosure will appear regardless of whether or not you elected to give the person permission to transfer money from your account.  Once finished, click “Confirm.”
  4. After clicking “Confirm,” you’ll be brought back to the main Shared Access page. You’ll see an “Invitation Pending” notice at the top of the screen. Click on the pending invite to open it up. You will see a 6-digit confirmation code at the top. You must provide this number to the person you have given account access to. They will need the confirmation code to complete their registration (see step 8). Keep in mind the code is only good for 24 hours, so the person must accept their invite and complete the registration process within that time frame.
  5. If you need to make any changes to access you have granted, you can also click on the pending invite and choose from “Edit user” (to change their name or email address), “Edit Account Access” (to change access permissions) or “Cancel Invitation” (to delete the shared access for this person).
  6. When the person you gave access receives the email invite, instruct them to click on the unique link. From there, they’ll be directed to a page with 3 options: “Log In” with the existing Frontwave login info, “Register” for a login or “Sign in as guest.” Instruct the invited user to select the appropriate option based on their relationship with the credit union.
  7. On the next page, the invitee will be prompted to enter a Confirmation Code. This is the 6-digit code described in step 7 above, viewable from the “Shared Access” tab in your Online Banking account. You must personally give this code to the person you are granting access to. It will not be e-mailed to them.
  8. In addition to entering the confirmation code, the person will need to fill in all the fields marked with the red asterisk, then click the “Continue” button at the bottom of the page. The system will then guide them through the rest of the process.



Frequently Asked Questions

The confirmation code is only good for 24 hours. If confirmation code has expired, you’ll have to delete the current “pending invitation” and re-add the user.
Unfortunately there’s no way to resend the email. So, you’ll have to delete the current “pending invitation” and re-add the user. Be sure to double check that you’re entering the correct email address!
Why do I have to agree to the following acknowledgement “I acknowledge one or more of the settings selected will allow the invitee to transfer money from my account/accounts” even though I am only giving them “View Account” access?

This is a general acknowledgement that must be marked for all Shared Access users. Basically, it’s a quirk in the system. But rest assured, if you didn’t select transfer access on the permissions page, the person will not be able to complete transfers.
No biggie. Simply have the invitee go back to the email they received email and click on the link again. Once the invitee is back on the “Invitation to access account” screen, have them simply select the correct option and follow the process.
Login to your account and return to the “Shared Access” screen (found by clicking “More,” the “Settings,” then the “Shared Access” tab at the top). Click on the name of the person whose access you want to revoke. Then click “Cancel invitation.”
We know it’s kind of a pain, but it’s for your protection. Following these steps ensures the security of your account. If you have a joint account, an easier option might be to share the same username and password with your joint account holder, rather than going through the “Shared Access” process.
Ready to get started?

Download the Frontwave mobile app to your Apple or Android device today.